There are currently six Working Groups, four of which are thematic (Criminal Justice and the Rule of Law; Countering Violent Extremism; Foreign Terrorist Fighters; and Detention and Reintegration) and two which are geographic, focusing on capacity-building in the key regions of the Sahel and the Horn of Africa.

The existence and configuration of GCTF Working Groups is reviewed periodically by the Coordinating Committee to ensure that the GCTF is positioning itself strategically to address the most pressing and urgent counterterrorism and capacity-building needs.


All Working Groups seek to identify relevant civilian counterterrorism challenges and capacity gaps or needs; consider activities to address these gaps or needs; and mobilize political will, financial resources, and expertise to implement those activities.

GCTF Working Groups

Countering violent extremismCountering Violent Extremism United Arab Emirates United Kingdom
Criminal justice and rule of lawCriminal Justice and the Rule of Law Egypt United States
Detention and reintegrationDetention and Reintegration Australia Indonesia
Foreign Terrorist Fighters Morocco Netherlands
Horn of Africa Capacity BuildingHorn of Africa Capacity Building European Union Turkey
Sahel Region Capacity BuildingSahel Region Capacity Building Algeria Canada